FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Southeast Federation of Stamp Clubs Names 2015 Rowland Hill Award Winner

Atlanta, Georgia: The Southeast Federation of Stamp Clubs, representing Stamp Clubs in Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina and Massachusetts, is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2015 Rowland Hill Award. The award is named after Sir Rowland Hill, the creator of the first postage stamp and is awarded annually to a philatelist who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution to stamp collecting in the Southeastern United States.

For 2015, the Federation proudly honors **Charles J. O'Brien III** of Atlanta, Georgia. Charles is a philatelic writer, award winning exhibitor and an active participant in organized philately. He is a lifetime member of the American Philatelic Society and the American First Day Cover Society.

Charles is the current President of the Southeast Federation of Stamp Clubs serving his second term. Previously Charles served two terms as President of the Georgia Federation of Stamp Clubs and as a Director of the American First Day Cover Society. Under Charles' able leadership of the Federation, the Southeastern Stamp Expo had an outstanding inaugural show in 2013 followed by an even stronger show in 2014.

Charles is among a small core of philatelists who brought first day cover exhibiting into the mainstream and fostered significant interest and respect for this exhibition category. His exhibits have won eight grand awards, nine reserve grand awards, five APS Best Illustrated Class awards, the World Series of Philately Prix de Honor with four different exhibits and over sixty gold medals. Of particular interest to the southeast is Charles' exhibit of the 1933 Oglethorpe stamp issued for Georgia's bi-centennial. Charles has contributed to several philatelic articles including authoring a number of articles published in *First Days*. He has also conducted several seminars on exhibiting.

Another passion for Charles is sports car racing. He and his son were co-champions in a historic racing series last year.

In professional life, Charles is an Architect, Design Principal and President of Pieper O'Brien Herr Architects. He has held the top position at the firm for the past 27 years. Recently, the firm was selected by Architectural Record magazine to be in the Top 300 architectural firms in the United States. It's quite an honor considering there are approximately 23,000 firms. The firm has designed projects throughout the United States including several projects at the American Philatelic Center in Bellefonte, including the new library.

Charles will accept his award at the Southeastern Stamp Expo Awards Ceremony on January 31, 2014.

Past Winners of the Rowland Hill Award

2005 Nancy B. Z. Clark

2006 Dr. William H. Waggoner

2007 Lt. Col. (Ret) Robert Effinger

2008 Ed Jackson

2010 Douglas N. Clark

2013 Bruce Roberts

2014 Francis J. Crown Jr.

About the Southeast Federation of Stamp Clubs

The Southeast Federation of Stamp Clubs is an organization representing 21 stamp clubs and societies in Georgia, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, North and South Carolina which pool resources for the common goal of promoting and supporting stamp collecting activities in the southeastern region. Principal among these is the sponsorship and management of the annual Southeast Stamp Expo an APS World Series of Philately stamp show. The show will be held January 30th – February 1st, 2015 at the Hilton Atlanta Northeast, 5993 Peachtree Industrial Blvd. Norcross, GA 30092.